“Lactic Acid in Wine”— Problematic?

Say WINE! Because no great story ever started with someone drinking a glass of milk.

For all you lactose intolerants out there fearing Wine because of the acids it’s treated with, I have some good news. Well, don’t I always?

My poor cousin sister, who has an intolerance to dairy, was on the verge of a nervous breakdown when she read somewhere that wines are fermented with lactic acid. She, thought her life was coming to a halt now that only alcohol she consumed could tick her health off. As usual, because of my sceptical nature, I went on to research about the same.

Yes, the primary alcoholic fermentation that wine undergoes, produces lactic acid, in which yeasts feed on grape sugars to produce alcohol and carbon dioxide. But why so much science? Because this fermentation is what converts the apple-like malic acid into softer, buttery lactic acid. So, the point is to bring the creamy texture to the wine—mostly red wine. Chardonnay and Merlot kind of wines desire this kind of thick consistency.

What I found, however, delightfully proved my sister wrong. There’s a fundamental difference between lactose and lactic acid… nope, they’re not the same! Lactose needs to be broken down by our body’s enzymes so that it can be absorbed. Now, people who cannot break this down are in for a trouble—namely, lactose intolerance.

Well, the good news is, unlike lactose, lactic acid does not need to be broken down in order to be absorbed by the body. People reading this article, including my sister, will now be happy to know that while you might be missing out on sipping an iced latte, you, for sure can pour yourself a glass of red wine without hesitance.

Comments

comments